It was business as usual for Ilwaco’s Blake Kukula at the Southwest 2B District Boys’ Golf Championships.

Kukula carded a 36-hole total 139 to earn his fourth consecutive district crown at the Tumwater Valley Golf Club on Tuesday.

Life Christian won the boys’ team title with 72.5 points, followed by defending district champ Wahkiakum with 63. Ilwaco was third with 53.5, followed by Kalama (22) and Adna (6).

Wahkiakum’s Tyler St. Onge carded 168 to place second, Logan LaBerge had 178 for fifth place, Zach Johnston carded 180 for sixth, and William Guitron was 14th with 201.

Kalama freshman Todd Tabor placed eighth with 182.

Ilwaco’s Tenyson Ramsey placed 10th with 187 and is the alternate to state, and Brenden Chabot was 11th with 188.

The Boys’ 2B/1B State Championships will be held May 21-22 at Tumwater Valley.

1A/2B District Girls: Ilwaco’s Gabby Bell and Faith Richardson each punched their tickets to state after finishing in the top 10 at the Southwest 1A/2B District Girls’ Golf Championships at the Tumwater Valley Golf Course on Tuesday in Tumwater.

Montesano won the team title, and Ilwaco finished fifth.

Bell placed seventh with a 36-hole total 203, and Richardson finished tied for eighth with 204. Maggie Jacobson missed the cut with 223, good for 15th place.

The Girls’ 1A/2B State Championships will be held May 21-22 at Tumwater Valley.

3A Bi-District Girls: Kelso’s Liz Dolan qualified for state after placing seventh in the West-Central/Southwest Bi-District Tournament which concluded Tuesday at McCormick Woods in Silverdale.

Dolan carded a 36-hole total 175. Kelli Rakoz finished 38th with rounds of 113-109 for 222.

The 3A Girls’ State Golf Championships will be held at the Golf Club at Hawks Prairie during May 21-22 in Lacey.


CR’s Perdue, Titus are first-teamers: Castle Rock pitcher Ethan Perdue and infielder Erik Titus were named to the all-Trico League baseball first-team after a vote of league coaches.

Placing on the second-team were infielder Cole Hopper, and outfielders Skyler King and Ethan Erickson. Austin McQuilliams was placed on the honorable mention team.

Davis Koester of White Salmon and Stevenson’s Brandon Connell were named the league’s co-Most Valuable Players, and John Hallead of White Salmon was selected Coach of the Year.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sports Reporter

Rick is a 29-year veteran of The Daily News, and the lead Lower Columbia College athletics reporter. In addition, he tracks former area prep athletes and assists several other beats. He is a Mark Morris grad with a business management degree from LCC.

Load comments