Try 1 month for 99¢
Prep Roundup Logo

For the second consecutive year, Kelso linebacker Riley Noah has been selected as the Greater St. Helens 3A League co-Defensive Player of the Year, the league released on Monday. The all-league teams are selected by coaches.

Noah, a senior, anchored an 8-2 Kelso defense, which allowed just 20.2 points per game. He shared the honor with Mountain View’s Andrew Gulliford again. Mountain View’s Jack Mertens and Garrett Moen shared Offensive Player of the Year honors, and Thunder coach Adam Mathieson was selected as Coach of the Year.

Noah also made the first team as a wide receiver. Joining him on the first team was two-way selections running back/linebacker Josh Webb, offensive/defensive lineman Todd Johanson and linebacker Seth Sutherby.

On the second team, Marshall Coleman was selected as a quarterback and defensive back, along with offensive linemen McKinnley Franklin and Stephen Williams and defensive lineman Mason Hadaller.

Kelso coach Steve Amrine also gave honorable mentions too wide receiver Jayden Hardeman, linebacker Blake Fowler, defensive backs Dillon Davis and Austin Bromley, offensive lineman David Perry, defensive linemen Graham Karavolos and Cooper Lindberg, and kicker Kevin Aguilar.

For the full all-league list and all of our fall all-league teams, visit the Preps+ Blog at

Sarysz, Yates make first team

R.A. Long runners Nicholas Sarysz and Kierrla Yates were named to the Greater St. Helens 2A League all-league first team, as decided by coaches and released Monday.

Sarysz finished 48th at the 2A State Boys’ Cross Country Championships in Pasco on Saturday, and Yates finished 77th in the girls’ race.

Ridgefield’s Kyle Radosevich was named the Outstanding Male Runner of the Year and Washougal’s Amelia Pullen was the Outstanding Female Runner of the Year. Coaches of the year went to Washougal’s Terry Howard (boys) and Hockinson’s Rebecca Ferguson (girls).

Named to the second team were R.A. Long’s Zach Hayden and Miranda Lomax. Woodland’s Parker Owen and Lauren Kaiser and Mark Morris’ Kameron Werner earned honorable mentions.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments