Roundup Logo

Woodland quarterback Tyler Flanagan was named Outstanding Player of the Year by coaches of the Greater St. Helens League 2A, as the league’s top player.

Flanagan highlights a group of Woodland football players, three of which were selected to the All-League First Team and another seven named to the second team.

Linemen Bryce Graham was tabbed for first-team offensive line, Jack Wear for first-team defensive line, and Elijua Schultz for first-team linebacker.

Flanagan finished the season having rushed for 1,948 yards this season, along with 2,012 passing yards. The marks make him the state’s top 2A rusher by a wide margin, according to MaxPreps, and Flanagan adds 51 touchdowns — 32 coming on runs or kick returns — to his season stat-line. That mark gives him more rushing touchdowns than anyone in Washington, in any classification, according to MaxPreps.

R.A. Long’s Owen Enriquez and Mark Morris’ Dawson Fritz were selected as first-team defensive backs.

On the second team, Woodland receivers Wyatt Wooden, Kenyon Guy and Christian Yager earned a nod, as did teammates Jason Bowman (OL), Austin Clifford (OL), Isaiah Flanagan (DB and Tommy Lewellan (DB).

For Mark Morris, Ethan West (RB), Keoni Makaiwi (LB) and Marco Valdivia (DL) earned a second-team nod. R.A. Long’s Brady Maggs (OL) and Ian Johnson (LB) earned second-team honors as well.


Greater St. Helens 2A All League Soccer: Mark Morris coach Eric Maxey was selected as co-coach of the year by league representatives, an honor he shared with Columbia River coach Filly Afenegus. Monarch forward Heaven Burr was selected for the first team, as was teammate Presley McClung. R.A. Long’s Madeline Barker and Madeline Wolff were also picked for the first team.

Lumberjill Kelsey Bern, MM’s Madison Pond and Chloe Harris, along with Woodland’s Emersyn Finn were tabbed for the second team.


Greater St. Helens League 2A Volleyball All-League: Woodland coach Danielle Hutton was named GSHL 2A Coach of the Year. Woodland’s volleyball squad went 16-5 on the season, and finished sixth in state. Ridgefield junior Delaney Nicoll was selected as Player of the Year.

Woodland seniors Taylor Foster and Elyse Booker made the first-team, while teammate Emma Swett was tabbed as second-team all-league.

Mark Morris’ Grace Huhta was also selected for second-team honors.


Battle Ground 1939, R.A. Long 1808: Precious Sprague finished with a 361 and Brooke Thill tallied a 335 in the Lumberjills nonleague loss on Tuesday.

Kelso 1556, Heritage 1204: The Lassies picked up a nonleague win Tuesday, and is now 1-1 on the season. Zoie Rodman bowled a 304, finishing with a 166 on the first round, and Katrina Rasmussen closed with a 295 after bowling a 162 over the first 10 frames.

Be the first to know - Sign up for Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sports Reporter

Jason is a journeyman sports reporter who has covered the Golden State Warriors, Oakland A's, along with a heavy emphasis on the Oakland Raiders. He comes to Cowlitz County from Oakland, Calif. and is a loving father.

Load comments