Naselle’s Ethan Lindstrom was selected Most Valuable Player for Coastal 1B League baseball after a recent balloting of league coaches.

Naselle coach Randy Lindstrom was selected the league’s Coach of the Year, and Lake Quinault received the Sportsmanship award.

Named to the league’s first-team were Cole Dorman, Josh Townsen, and Kolten Lindstrom. Placing on the honorable mention team were Daniel Holt, Joe Strange, Jimmy Strange, and Clay Bergeson.

Ilwaco’s Tynkila named to first-team: Ilwaco’s Reese Tynkila was named to the all-Pacific 2B League first-team in baseball after a recent vote of league coaches.

Placing on the second-team were Trenton Cox and Chris Wood. Tynkila was also named to the league’s All-Academic team.

Ocosta’s Cole Hatton was selected league MVP, and Ocosta’s Mike Allton was tabbed Coach of the Year. Northwest Christian earned the Sportsmanship award.

Lofgren, Kolb are MVPs: Zach Lofgren of Rainier was named Offensive MVP, and Deuce Kolb of Mossyrock was selected Defensive MVP from the 42nd annual Senior All-Star Game held recently on Wheeler Field at Fort Borst Park.

Players from the game nominated to play in the All-State Series on June 8-9 in Yakima are Hayden Wilson (Kalama), Luke Brown (Wahkiakum), James Anderson (Wahkiakum), Teegan Zillyett (Montesano), Drew Rose (South Bend), Payton Quintanilla (Hoquiam), Zack Lofgren (Rainier), Alex Bratton (Tenino), Camden Ryan (Adna), and Daniel Fagerness (W.F. West).

Dirtbags win Foote Memorial title: The Rural Baseball Inc. Dirtbags went 5-0 to win the Aaron Foote Memorial Tournament championship on Sunday in Hoquiam.

On Friday, Austin Cantrell tossed a 10-strikeout complete-game win over Hoquiam, and helped his own cause with a two-run homer. Cam Bowen was 2-2 including an RBI double.

The Dirtbags kept the momentum on Saturday with a 6-2 win over the South Lewis County Braves, and a 9-1 win over the Clark County Outlaws.

Cole Bowers allowed a run and struck out four through three innings for the won over the Braves, and Kaden Harrington had two scoreless relief innings. Cody Towns had a hit and knocked in two runs.

Bowen pitched the win over the Outlaws with eight strikeouts through four innings. Bowen had a pair of hits, and Kyle Hamilton added two doubles and an RBI.

The Dirtbags topped the Grays Harbor Longshore 9-6 in Sunday’s opener. Seth Butler tossed a complete-game, allowing seven hits and four earned runs. AJ Volk was 3-4 with two RBIs, and Towns added three hits and an RBI. In the championship game, the Dirtbags prevailed over Longshore 10-8. Volk and Butler had two hits apiece.

Wranglers go 2-2 at Brian Cox: The Rural Baseball Inc. Wranglers opened the tournament with a pair of losses, but swept a pair of games on Sunday at the Brian Cox Memorial Tournament on Sunday in Centralia.

The Wranglers fell to Titus-Will 12-3 and Rochester 13-3, but bounced back to stop Tenino 13-7 and PAC 5-4.

Jackson Hull, Matt Kurzeika, Mekhi Morlin, Todd Tabor and Chase Staup had a hit apiece in the loss to Titus-Will. Against Rochester, Isiah Prue broke-up a no-hitter in the sixth inning with a single to centerfield.

Morlin tossed the win over Tenino with five strikeouts in four innings. Jacob Douglass had four hits and three runs, Chase Staup added two hits, and Morlin had three hits and two RBIs, and Morlin had three hits and scored two runs.

Staup tossed a complete-game with 14 strikeouts against PAC.


Naselle’s Harman named MVP: Lily Harman was named co-Most Valuable Player in softball in the Cosatal 1B League after a recent vote of league coaches.

Named to the league’s first-team were Naselle’s Brynn Tarabochia, Kylee Tarabochia, and Hollie Haataia.

Placing on the honorable mention team were Hailey Weston, Taylor Gudmundsen, and Peyton Dalton.Taholah’s Jinny Marchand was named the league’s Coach of the Year, and Taholah and Oakville shared the league’s Sportsmanship award.

Ilwaco’s Barnett is a second-teamer: Gracie Barnett was named to the all-Pacific 2B League second-team in softball after a balloting of league coaches.

Named to the honorable mention team were Jaymie Patana, Kaytlenn Wheldon, Arianna Bell, and Lindsy Agee. Emma Brundage was placed on the league’s All-Academic team.

Britney Patrick of Pe Ell/Willapa Valley was named the league’s Most Valuable Player, and Ken Olson of P/WV was named Coach of the Year. Ocosta received the Sportsmanship award.


Kukula fourth at Tumwater: Ilwaco’s Blake Kukula grabbed a fourth place finish in the boys’ 16- 18-year-old division at the 2019 Pacific Northwest Junior PGA Championship held recently at The Home Course in Dupont, Wash.

Kukula carded rounds of 73-69 for 142, one stroke off a three-way tie for the lead.


CVR wins Hood-to-Coast relay: A team from the Cowlitz Valley Runners club won the Champion Masters Division (over 60) of the 76-mile Hood-to-Coast Washington relay held recently in Seabrook, Wash.

The team covered the course in 9 hours and 42 minutes, a pace of 7:37 per mile. They finished as the fastest mens’ team for runners over 40 years of age, and a 10th place finish overall out of 200 teams. Team members included Kevin Filkowski, Rick Jaspers, Don Jenkins, and Kevin Rentner of Longview, and Brad and Kay Pinkstaff of Rainier.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sports Reporter

Rick is a 29-year veteran of The Daily News, and the lead Lower Columbia College athletics reporter. In addition, he tracks former area prep athletes and assists several other beats. He is a Mark Morris grad with a business management degree from LCC.

Load comments