Prep Roundup Logo

Lower Columbia College’s men’s basketball team overcame a 12-point halftime deficit to hand hosts and No. 1-ranked Everett its first loss in the past 15 games, rallying to a 96-94 win in overtime on Thursday in Everett.

Samaad Hector was a monster with 30 points on 13-of-20 shooting and 21 rebounds to keep LCC’s tourney hopes alive. The Devils play the winner of Chemeketa and Walla Walla at 7 p.m. Friday in a quarterfinals matchup.

Down 46-34 at halftime, the Red Devils took their first lead, 71-69, with 6:39 remaining on a Hector layup. The teams traded the lead the rest of the way. Seth Hall gave the Devils an 85-83 lead with 1:46 left on a 3-pointer. He added one of two free throws with 24 seconds left to make it 86-83.

Everett’s Jon Parker nailed a game-tying 3-pointer with 8 seconds left to send the game into overtime.

Hall hit another 3-pointer to give the Devils a 93-92 overtime lead with 1:41 remaining. Everett re-took the lead with 23 ticks remaining, but Martis Johnson hit a layup and the free throw with 11 seconds left to give the Devils the victory.

Hall finished with a game-high 33 points, including going 6 of 13 from range. Johnson had 18 points and nine rebounds. LCC was 35 of 72 (48.6 percent) from the field and won the battle at the glass 38-25.


WIBCA Players of the Year: Kelso’s Shaw Anderson was named the Washington Interscholastic Basketball Coaches Association’s 3A Player of the Year. In addition, Anderson was named a Washington Interscholastic Activities Association/Wendy’s Athlete of the Week. Anderson set the 3A State Boys Basketball Tournament scoring mark with 122 points, and also broke the made free-throws mark with 36. He averaged 9.75 rebounds per contest as the Hilanders took sixth place.

Gonzaga Prep’s Anton Watson was named Mr. Basketball. Federal Way’s Jaden McDaniels was picked as the 4A player of the year. Lynden’s Clayton Whitman (2A) and Lynden Christian’s Cole Bajema (1A) earned player of the year picks. Kittitas’ Brock Ravet was named the 2B player of the year and Almira-Coulee-Hartline’s Maguire Isaak was the 1B player of the year.

Sunnyside Christian’s Dean Wagenaar (1B), Kittitas’ Tim Ravet (2B), Zillah’s Mario Mengarelli (1A), Lynden’s Brian Roper (2A), O’Dea’s Jason Kerr (3A) and Gonzaga Prep’s Matty McIntyre (4A) were selected as Wayne Gilman Coaches Award recipients.

Greater St. Helens League Boys’ Wrestling: Woodland placed three wrestlers, and Mark Morris and R.A. Long landed one grappler apiece on the Greater St. Helens 2A all-League wrestling first-team after a vote of league coaches.

Woodland’s Judeah Sanders (113 pounds), Anthony Clifford (145) and Andrew Pottratz (285), MM’s Brady Anderson (120) and RAL’s Owen Enriquez (152) were selected to the first team.

Placing on the second team were Woodland’s Josiah Sanders (113), Parker Owen (120) and JJ Fuerst (126), and RAL’s Atticus Kurtz (106) and Eric Howard (220).

Washougal’s John Carver was named the league’s Coach of the Year.

Greater St. Helens League Girls’ Wrestling: Castle Rock’s Makayla Wilbur and Kylee Jacobs were named to the league’s first team after a vote of league coaches.

Wilbur wrestled at 100 pounds, and Jacobs competed at 110. Also named to the first team were Woodland’s Ashlyn Daugherty (105), and Kelso’s Haley McAninch (190).

Placing on the second team were Kelso’s Ashley McGee (105), Kyla Shoddy (125) and Makayla Roggow (140), and R.A. Long’s Taliban Valencia (130).

David Morales of Union was named Coach of the Year.

Greater St. Helens 3A League swimming: Kelso’s Grant Eastham and Jakob Redmill placed on the league’s first team after a balloting of league coaches.

Eastham was named in the 200 individual medley and 100 backstroke, and Redmill placed in the 100 butterfly.

Placing on the second team was Kelso’s Leonard Tanne in the 100 butterfly.

Swimmer of the year: Ilia Zablotovskii of Evergreen was named the league’s Swimmer of the Year, and Cheryl Wolff of the combined Fort Vancouver/Hudson’s Bay team was named Coach of the Year.

Trico 1A League girls’ basketball: Castle Rock’s Zoe Naugle was named to the league’s second team after a recent vote of league coaches.

Placing on the honorable mention team were CR’s Brooke Wirkkala and Megan Keeling.

La Center’s Taylor Stephens, and MacKenzie Ellertson of King’s Way Christian were named the league’s co-Most Valuable Players. Stevenson’s Non McCrum was selected Coach of the Year.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sports Reporter

Rick is a 29-year veteran of The Daily News, and the lead Lower Columbia College athletics reporter. In addition, he tracks former area prep athletes and assists several other beats. He is a Mark Morris grad with a business management degree from LCC.

Load comments