Kalama voters will have at least one contested City Council race to decide in the next election.

Jon Stanfill, a University of Portland theology professor, filed Monday for James M. Dennis Langham’s seat on the Kalama City Council. Langham said he will not be running for reelection. Kalama business owner Sara Hutchinson also filed for the position Monday.

Stanfill moved to Kalama about three years ago with his wife, who is from Kelso. Stanfill said he grew up in Seattle and most recently spent about a decade in New York City, where he got his Ph.D. at Fordham University.

Stanfill said his experience as a teacher and scholar make him a good candidate.

“While I have my values, I don’t approach issues already having made up my mind,” Stanfill said. “It’s important to welcome new evidence, be humble and flexible enough to change my mind when it’s the right call. Those are important skills in a local government official.”

Hutchinson, 36, grew up in Kalama, and after serving five years in the Army, moved back to her hometown in 2007. Hutchinson owns a massage business in Kalama and is also an active member of the Lions Club, VFW and the American Legion.

Hutchinson said she decided to run for the council seat because the current administration has made decisions in recent years that many Kalama residents didn’t agree with.

“I want to represent the majority of the people in our city,” she said. “I don’t think that’s been done.”

The seat was the only contested Kalama council position as of Tuesday.

Seventy-three elective offices are up for re-election in Cowlitz County this year. Here’s an updated list of other candidates who have filed today. A list of candidates who previously filed ran in Monday’s paper:

Port of Longview Commission

District 3: Robert (Rob) Beringer

City of Castle Rock

Mayor: Paul Helenberg (Incumbent)

City of Kalama

Position 3: Sara Hutchinson

Position 4: Rosemary Siipola (Incumbent)

City of Woodland

Mayor: Will Finn (Incumbent)

Toutle Lake School District

District 5: Jonathon Rodeback

Castle Rock School District

District 4 (at large): Tracy Morgan

Kalama School District

District 3: Wesley (Wes) R. Eader (Incumbent)

District 5: Russ Ipock (Incumbent)

Woodland School District

District 4: Tammy Graham

Kelso School District

District 3: Don Sharer

Cemetery District 2 Commission

Position 3: Christy Tseu

Cemetery District 6 Commission

Position 3: Ella (Christie) Masters

No one has yet filed for the following offices:

Fire District 3 Commission

Cowlitz-Lewis Fire Protection District 20 Commission

Cemetery Districts 1, 3, 4, 5, and 7

Woodland Swimming Pool and Recreation District

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments