The Daily News typically reports the top 10 salaries of local officials when cities and school districts adopt annual budgets. Here are the figures for the Kelso and Longview school districts, which adopted budgets for the 2018-19 school year in late August.

These figures include the base salary before benefits for each individual.


Dan Zorn, superintendent, $167,929

Tony VanderMaas, executive director of leadership/learning, $133,466

Richard Reeves, R.A. Long high school principal, $133,335

Jill Diehl, director of career and college readiness, $130,035

Elizabeth West, director of special education, $129,479

Brooks Cooper, Mark Morris high school principal, $124,595

Jay Opgrande, Mount. Solo middle school principal, $123,240

Chris Rugg, Cascade middle school principal, $119,193

Scott Merzoian, Monticello middle school principal, $118,226

Nine elementary school principals*, $118,226

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

*The principals are Stephanie Casillas at Columbia Heights Elementary School, Noma Hudson at Kessler Elementary School, Lori Larson at Robert Gray Elementary School, Cora Lazo at Northlake Elementary School, Michael Mendenhall at Olympic Elementary School, Jean Merritt at Mint Valley Elementary School, Megan Shea at Broadway Learning Center, Stephanie Teel at St. Helens Elementary School and Aaron Whitright at Columbia Valley Gardens Elementary School.


Mary Beth Tack, superintendent, $171,069

Scott Westlund, chief financial officer, $145,738

Christine McDaniel, Kelso High School principal, $140,976

Denise Freund, director of special programs, $135,408

Don Iverson, director of support services, $135,408

Tim Petersen, director of human resources, $135,408

Kim Yore, director of teaching/learning, $135,408

Greg Gardner, Coweeman Middle School principal, and Laura Hiatt, Huntington Middle School principal, $130,983

Holly Budge and Lacey DeWeert, associate directors of teaching/learning, $124,613

Five elementary school principals*, $124,613

*The five elementary school principals are Angie Hansen at Barnes Elementary School, Jay Sparks at Beacon Hill Elementary School, Cindy Cromwell at Butler Acres Elementary School, Tim Yore at Catlin Elementary School and Ray Cattin at Wallace Elementary School.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments