Longview Mayor Don Jensen will have a challenger for his City Council seat after Jack Hansen filed against him Wednesday.

And Christopher Jenkins has filed against Kelso Mayor Nancy Malone.

Meanwhile in another intriguing election filing, methanol plant opponent Gary Wallace has filed to oppose Port of Kalama Commissioner Alan Basso. That race will be the first electoral measure of public support or opposition to the proposed $2 billion project.

In the Longview race, Hansen, a landlord liaison with Lower Columbia CAP, had a tense interaction with the Longview City Council last week during which he was critical of the council’s new policy banning tarps and tents in city park structures. It was a measure meant to prevent homeless people from setting up camps in city parks.

The Longview and Kelso councils elect the mayor from among its members after each election. If Hansen defeats Jensen or Jenkins beats Malone, they would be councilmembers, not mayor, unless the council later appointed them to the post.

Jensen has served as mayor since 2013 but has been a council member for about 20 years. Malone was appointed mayor in 2018.

In addition, Erik Halvorson filed against first-term incumbent Longview Councilman Scott Vydra.

The filings mean three of four Longview council seats up for election this year will be contested. Councilman Mike Wallin, who serves as mayor pro tem, so far is unchallenged.

Four years ago none of the contestants for these seats were contested.

On the Cowlitz 2 Fire & Rescue Board, L. D. Smith has filed against incumbent Jeff Cameron, who is public works director for the City of Longview. Cowlitz 2 provides firefighting and emergency medical service to Kelso and the rural area around Kelso and Longview, including Lexington.

A new candidate for the Kelso School Board filed for the position Kelso Police Captain Darr Kirk was appointed to in January. Robert Johnson put his name in the running Wednesday afternoon. He is currently the only candidate for the position. Though Kirk was the only applicant for the January vacancy, he said he was unsure if he would file to stay in the position.

Here are the other candidates who have filed Wednesday and Thursday afternoon. (Previous lists have run on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday morning. See the full updated list attached to this story on TDN.com.)

Castle Rock City Council

Position 4: Paul Simonsen

Position 5: Ellen Rose (incumbent)

Kalama City Council

Position 3: Wendy Conradi

Position 5: Matthew Merz (withdrew from Position 4 Thursday; the switch means that incumbent Mary Putka now has two challengers, including Tanaja Gravina.)

Kelso City Council

Position 6: Thomas J. Loren, Jennifer Pekrul

Toutle Lake School Board

District 1: Jamie M. Foster

District 2: Janell Wheatley

Woodland School Board

District 2: Janice Watts

Kelso School Board

Position 5: Robert Johnson

Cowlitz 2 Fire & Rescue

Position 5: Jon Olson (incumbent)

Fire District 3 Commission

Position 2: Tom Baltazar

Cowlitz-Lewis Fire Protection District 20 Commission

Position 2: Terry Williams (incumbent)

Position 3: Ken Miller (incumbent)

Cemetery District 5

Position 2: Elouise (Kenney) Hutton (incumbent)

Woodland Swimming Pool and Recreation District

Position 3: Rachael Stuart (incumbent)

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments