Voters will have three contested Kalama City Council seats to decide in the next election.

Matthew Merz and Steve Kallio both filed Tuesday afternoon to challenge incumbent Rosemary Siipola for position 4. Wendy Conradi, a nurse who works in Longview, filed Wednesday morning for position 3, challenging Jon Stanfill and Sara Hutchinson (incumbent James M. Dennis Langham is not running for re-election.) And as of Wednesday morning, Tanaja Gravina, a legal assistant, will face incumbent Mary Putka for position 5.

The race for Fire Protection District 3 commissioner position 2 will be a contested as well: Jakob Smith of Toutle filed Tuesday evening and Curtis W. Dorcheus of Castle Rock filed Wednesday morning. Incumbent Thomas R. Baltazar had not filed as of Wednesday afternoon.

Elsewhere, other races saw incumbents officially file for re-election, with most facing no challengers. But filing week continues through Friday.

Karl A. Chapman filed to retain his seat on the Woodland City Council. Don Wiitala and Barb Westrick filed for their seats as directors at the Longview School Board. Ron Cryderman filed for his director seat on the Toutle Lake School Board, and Sarah Stuart filed for her seat on the Woodland School Board.

Jason Petrillo will again seek his seat as a commissioner for Cowlitz Fire District 5, and Michelle Hollis will seek her seat as commissioner for the Beacon Hill Water and Sewer District. At the Lexington Flood Control Zone District, both Lee Wolf and Michael Pinto have also filed to keep their supervisor seats.

All of those incumbents currently run unopposed.

Finally, Allan Erickson will run to keep his seat in the race for Port of Longview Commissioner District 3 against Robert (Rob) Beringer.

Seventy-three elective offices are up for re-election in Cowlitz County this year. Lists of candidates who previously filed ran in Monday and Tuesday’s papers. Here’s an updated list of other candidates who have filed today:

Port of Longview Commission

District 3: Allan Erickson (incumbent)

Kalama City Council

Council Position 3: Wendy Conradi

Council Position 4: Matthew Merz, Steve Kallio

Council Position 5: Tanaja Gravina

Woodland City Council

Council Position 4: Karl Chapman

Longview School Board

Director Position 3: Don Wiitala

Director Position 4: Barb Westrick

Toutle Lake School Board

Director Position 3: Ron Cryderman

Woodland School Board

Director Position 1: Sarah Stuart

Director Position 3: Jeff Wray

Fire District 3 Commission

Commissioner Position 2: Jakob Smith, Curtis W. Dorcheus

Fire District 5 Commission

Commissioner Position 2: Jason Petrillo

Beacon Hill Water and Sewer District

Commissioner Position 3: Michelle Hollis

Lexington Flood Control Zone District

Supervisor Position 1: Lee Wolf

Supervisor Position 3: Michael Pinto

No one has yet filed for the following offices


Cowlitz-Lewis Fire Protection District 20 Commission

Cemetery Districts 1, 3, 4, 5, and 7

Woodland Swimming Pool and Recreation District

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments