Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Ilwaco's Makenzie Kaech scored 65 points in the three-game state tournament to finish with 2,010 points. She is second in program history to Lori Newell, class of 1995.

Joshua Hart, The Daily News

Ilwaco girls’ basketball player Makenzie Kaech finished above the 2,000-point mark in her career, coach Ned Bittner confirmed Sunday night.

She scored 65 points in the three-game state tournament to finish with 2,010 points. She is second in program history to Lori Newell, class of 1995.

She broke the mark with a 31-point outing against Tri-Cities Prep in a consolation victory on Friday. The Fishermen finished sixth in Class 2B.

Kaech intends to sign her National Letter of Intent to play basketball at Saint Martin’s University this April. She will also be joined in Lacey by Eliza Bannister, who intends to run track and cross-country with the Saints.

Kaech achieved the feat in 109 games in her prep career, which gives her a scoring average of 18.44 points per game. She finished with a 20.8 points per game average this season in leading Ilwaco to a 24-3 year. The team also won the Southwest 2B District title and its fourth straight Pacific 2B League title.

In her four years, the Fishermen accumulated a 92-18 (.836) record.

Anderson makes all-tourney second team

In a sea of NCAA Division I commits, Kelso’s Shaw Anderson proved he belonged in the conversation among the best players at the Class 3A State Tournament in Tacoma. He averaged 25.33 points and 8 rebounds per game over the Scotties’ three games.

He guided Kelso to a sixth-place team finish, the first trophy the Scotties have brought home since 1959.

For his efforts, he was named by the media covering the tournament at the Tacoma Dome to the 3A all-tournament second-team.

Timberline’s Erik Stevenson was named MVP after breaking future NBA first-round pick Michael Porter Jr.’s tournament scoring record. The Blazers finished fourth. Rainier Beach’s Kevin Porter and Tre Anderson, Garfield’s Pierre Cockrell Jr. and Lincoln’s Emmett Linton were the first-team selections. Garfield won the title with an overtime win over Rainier Beach.

Berger twins make second team

Mark Morris’ Tyler and Garrett Berger were both named to the 2A all-tournament second team after guiding the Monarchs to a third-place finish, their highest trophy in more than a decade. The team is voted on by media covering the event.

Tyler Berger finished with a 15.67 points per game average in three games in the Yakima Valley SunDome, while Garrett Berger tallied 15.33 points per game.

Lynden’s Clayton Whitman was named the tournament MVP after leading the Lions to a state championship. Lynden’s Christian Zamora, W.F. West’s Brandon White, Foss’ Demetrious Crosby and Selah’s Elijah Pepper were the first-team selections.

Hansen, Blodgett named to tournament team

Rainier’s Desirae Hansen and Clatskanie’s Shelby Blodgett were selected to OSAA’s 3A all-tournament team after leading their teams to their best seasons in years.

Hansen guided the Columbians to a fifth-place finish and ranked second in total points with 43 in three games. Hansen also finished with 8 rebounds and 2.7 assists per game. She led the tournament with 4 steals per game and 2.3 blocks per game.

She was named to the first-team along with Dayton’s Shawnie Spink and Kalina Rojas and Salem Academy’s Aimee Smith and Sydney Brown. She was the only player not in the state championship game, won by Dayton, named to the first team.

Blodgett made the second team despite leading the tournament in scoring average, with 15.5 points per game in two games. The Tigers were in their first state appearance since 2011. Blodgett also ranked third with 9 rebounds per game and fourth with nine steals.


Load comments