Mark Morris senior Raimee Sluder, a two-time Greater St. Helens 2A League Offensive Player of the Year, recently inked a letter of intent to play softball at Corban College in Salem.

Sluder, a shortstop/third baseman, joins four other prep standouts from Oregon and California as the Warriors’ first wave of signees for the 2014 season.

“I am very excited that this group of players has chosen to continue playing softball here at Corban,” Corban softball coach Nathan Ohta said on the school’s website. “I am excited to have the opportunity to coach them, help them become the best players they can be, and continue the winning tradition of this program.”

A Gold Glove honoree as a freshman, Sluder also earned team Silver Slugger awards as a sophomore and junior.

“Raimee is a quality defensive third baseman who works hard, and loves to hit the ball,” Ohta added. “She has the ability to hit for average, but is a legitimate threat to hit the long ball. She will be a large part of the next generation of power hitters here at Corban and we are excited to have her bat in our lineup.”

The Warriors compete in the NAIA Cascade Conference against the College of Idaho, Eastern Oregon University, Southern Oregon University, Oregon Tech, Northwest Christian and Concordia University.

Comet trio makes second team

Naselle boys basketball players Dustin Eaton, Sam Scrabeck and Chandler Chapman were named to the all-Pacific 2B League’s second-team by the league’s coaches.

Darol Ratsavongsy of Raymond was named Most Valuable Player. Raymond’s Andrew Hamilton and Carte Bisbee, Willapa Valley’s Matt Konigsberger and Stephen Camenzind, and Corey Thornton of North Beach were first-team picks.

Among the girls, Raymond’s Abby Maneman was named Most Valuable Player. Raymond’s Aiyisha Garcia and Courtney Hagain, Willapa Valley’s Karli Friese and Michaela Huber, Katlyn Sawyer of South Bend, and Wakeena DeLaCruz of North Beach made the first team.

Naselle’s Katie Green was named honorable mention.

Raymond’s Jon Schray was named the league’s girls Coach of the Year. John Peterson of Willapa Valley and Ocosta’s Jason Quimby shared boys Coach of the Year accolades.

The Naselle boys and Ocosta girls teams won their respective Sportsmanship awards.

Mules Blix, Olsen honored

Wahkiakum student-athletes Lars Blix and Baylee Olsen were recently recognized by the WIAA as state Athletes of the Week at the Class 2B level.

Blix, a senior, amassed 64 points, 26 rebounds, nine assists and seven steals for the Mules in Central 2B League victories over Mossyrock, Toutle Lake and Adna.

Olsen, a sophomore, scored a combined 53 points and snagged 13 rebounds in league wins over Mossyrock, Toutle Lake and Adna.

MM’s Kilgore earns bowling honor

Mark Morris senior Janaye Kilgore, who recently won the state singles crown while leading the Monarchs to their second straight state championship, was named the Greater St. Helens 2A/3A League Bowler of the Year by the league’s coaches.

MM’s Brittany Schlauch, Camille Andes of R.A. Long, Kelso’s Erika Gustin, Bri Williams of Hudson’s Bay, Emily Bassett of Columbia River, and Mountain View’s Alex Lanning and Denver Babbitt joined Kilgore on the first team.

District champion Ellie Yates of RAL, MM’s Megan Schulz and Kelso’s Halie Brackney made the second team, and MM’s Caitlin Heltemes and Rachel Kreis, Kelso’s Ashley Price and Teanna Price, and RAL’s Bryanna Stone were honorable mention picks.

Julie Pagel of Fort Vancouver was named the league’s Coach of the Year.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.