Prep Roundup Logo

Kelso’s Riley Noah and Anthony Gulliford of Mountain View were named football co-Defensive Players of the Year in the Greater St. Helens 3A League after a recent balloting of league coaches.

Named to the league’s first-team were Kelso quarterback AJ Hoggatt, running back Max McDaniel, offensive/defensive lineman David Perry, linebacker Bryce Miller, and defensive back Emmitt Kinch.

Second-team picks included receiver Kinch, offensive/defensive lineman Todd Johanson, offensive lineman Graham Karavolos, linebacker Ben Bergonzine, and defensive back John Roberts.

Among the honorable mention picks were receiver Peyton Noah, offensive lineman Skylar McQuilliams, defensive lineman Ein Olsen, defensive back Quentin Nelson, and punter Josh Webb.

Mountain View’s Glen Perry Jr. was named the league’s Offensive Player of the Year, and MV coach Adam Mathieson was named the league’s Coach of the Year.


Gudmundsen MVPs

Bailee Williams-Wallace of Three Rivers Christian, and Naselle’s Taylor Gudmundsen were named co-Most Valuable Players in the Columbia Valley 1B League in volleyball after a recent vote of league coaches.

Also named to the all-league team were Holly Disch, Lily Harman, Hailey Weston and Kenzie Glenn of Naselle, and Aniya Conrad, Ally Stoner and Maddie Parham of Three Rivers Christian.

John Stevens of Firm Foundation was named the league’s Coach of the Year.

Sarysz, Werner Woodland

duo honored

Nicholas Sarysz of R.A. Long, Kameron Werner of Mark Morris, and Woodland’s McKenna Flanagan and Natalie Biddix were named to the Greater St. Helens 2A League’s first-team in cross country after a vote of league coaches.

Named to the second-team were RAL’s Mitchell Bergquist for the boys, and RAL’s Kierrla Yates and MM’s Megan Slind for the girls.

Kyle Radosevich of Ridgefield was named the Boys Runner of the Year, and Amelia Pullen of Washougal was tabbed the Girls Runner of the Year. RAL’s Keli Davenport was selected Boys Coach of the Year, and Rebecca Ferguson of Hockison was named Girls Coach of the Year.

CR has two


Castle Rock midfielder Maddie Epperson and defender Taylor Spears VanCamp were named to the all-Trico 1A League second-team in girls soccer after a balloting of league coaches.

Kiya Gere of Seton Catholic was named the league’s Player of the Year, and King’s Way players Elise Schey and Amber Kolb were tabbed the Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively. Josie Partridge of Seton Catholic, and Kennedy O’Mahoney of Stevenson were selected co-Goalkeepers of the Year.

Tina Ellertson of King’s Way and Bill LaCombe of Stevenson were named co-Coaches of the Year.

MM’s Pereault

is honored

Mark Morris swimmer Kiara Pereault earned Greater St. Helens 2A League girls swimming second-team honors in the 100 backstroke after a vote of league coaches.

Placing on the honorable mention team were Alyssa Davis (500 free), Bella Schafer (100 breast), and Miranda Roseman (200 individual medley).

Kara Noftsker of Columbia River was named Swimmer of the Year, and Richard Carr of MM was selected Coach of the Year.

The full list of all-area teams, including teams that have already ran in print editions of The Daily News can be found at


Rick is a 29-year veteran of The Daily News, and the lead Lower Columbia College athletics reporter. In addition, he tracks former area prep athletes and assists several other beats. He is a Mark Morris grad with a business management degree from LCC.

Load comments